White Crosses

29 May 2016 1432

by BaHR

Sends a chill
Down my spine
Brings a tear
To my eye
But is it a crime
That it doesn’t tear
Me up inside
Enough
To make me change
My mind
About some things…?
About some things…?

Who counts the cost
Of White Crosses?
Long bending lines
Of White Crosses?
We relish the gains…
Then lie about the losses…
While we all hold hands… and pretend…
Someday there’ll be an end…
To all those endless lines
Of  White Crosses.

Still… the blood they spilled?
Well… it never touched me….
The lives they gave?
Well… they never cost me…
Sure… I lost some friends….
Maybe some cousins….
But in the grand scheme of things….
I really lost NOTHING….
Nothing really REAL…
Nothing I really… LOVED….
If you know what I mean….
Just maybe some things….
Maybe some things….

Who counts the cost
Of White Crosses?
Long bending lines
Of White Crosses?
We relish the gains…
Then lie about the losses…
While we all hold hands… and pretend…
Someday there’ll be an end…
To all those endless lines
Of White Crosses….

One thought on “White Crosses

  1. Pingback: White Crosses | Wright-Wang Extreme Mystery, Inc.

Leave a Reply

