My Latest Screw-Up

Who puts their screw-ups out there for public inspection?

ME!

I do!

Because someone needs to….

Discussing screw-ups is part of the necessary process of postmortem examination or Morbidity & Mortality Conference… or After-Action Review….

Problem is… most people just want to bury the dead when they screw up….

They don’t want to be held up in front of their peers for intense scrutiny….

Because most of us lack the necessary confidence….

And… because of that… we lack humility….

So… we try to hide our screw-ups from public review… or even peer review… and thus… refuse to learn… and refuse to teach….

It’s a pretty large file because I’m putting it out there in high def… so may take a bit to download….

Probably really not worth your time… unless you find postmortems morbidly fascinating….

One issue is dynamics. The loudness of the individual notes. I worked on using Compression to try to smooth that out a bit, but CLEARLY I have not found the magic formula. As with everything else… a lot more practice… leading to improvement of my musicianship… would REALLY be a great benefit….

But… that’s probably not going to happen today….

And… I still need to work on learning how to edit not only better, but more efficiently, as well….

Now… the truth is… if you’re not inside my head… you probably don’t know my expectation of this piece of… work… IS…. So… until you get halfway through… and you get past the 3/4 part… to the 4/4 part… you might not see the problem…. But by then you’ll probably be too bored to notice anyway….

Technically… I’m supposed to do the rhythm tracks first…. Drums, percussion, and bass…. Maybe some rhythm guitar….

I did that before with Funk and Angel… which are both essentially little more than rhythm track experiments…. Wanted to see if I could visualize and create a drum/percussion arrangement that would be interesting enough to carry a song…. With Ketchup I just sat down and quickly recorded the rhythm guitar part based on an idea or germ of a song I’d been kicking around for a few days…. If you happen to be a Rod Stewart fan… you might hear a little Tonight’s the Night feel… but it’s in a different key… and doesn’t even come close to Rod’s artistry…. I was just working on recording something that stayed reasonably close to the click track (which I didn’t really manage to do very well, but the solo parts did stay reasonably tight with the rhythm track… which was why I put the rhythm track down first…. It’s MUCH easier to synch with MUSIC than a click track….) But… REAL players don’t EVER hit the notes exactly when they’re supposed to hit the notes…. And that is what gives actual recording of humans a more artistic dimension than drum machines… which also have algorithms to vary the pattern so they sound more human…. My rhythm just varies too much.

Would be nice to be able to edit that and smooth it out… but I’m not there yet…. Therefore… recording the same tracks over-and-over is probably a better method… which is actually what the pros do anyway….

But… I’m going to try to go back and repair the damage I did….

Leave a Reply

