Song of Morning

by BaHR
29 April 2015 0840

Woke up this morning feeling sorta short of breath.
Sure wasn’t sure if I had all that much left
In my tank….
Still… I knew I had to get up…
Gotta face the new day….

Well… I brushed my teeth and ran my hand through my hair.
Neither one took too long… because there wasn’t much there….
Thinking THAT stank…
I guess I gotta to get up….
Still gotta clean up… face the new day….

Mister Sun was up and he was sure shining!
And when he shined in my eyes he was practically blinding.
That put me in a funk.
still… I had to get up….
Had to stand up and face the new day….

These kids… these days… well… they don’t like work….
There’s this one in particular who’d be a great soda jerk!
That little punk….
And… that punk get up…?
Guess I gotta get up and face the new day….

So… I got in my truck and slammed that door
And I slammed that pedal almost through the floor.
Guess I showed that jerk….
My truck still had get up….
As I got up to face the new day….

As I sipped my coffee, I started thinking to myself…
What has God ever done for me? I was feeling bereft.
Didn’t feel like twerking.
Didn’t want to get up.
Didn’t want to get up and face the new day.

As I pulled into the parking lot at my church
I get myself together so I could get to work….
Leading my flock….
So I put on my get up….
And I got up to face the new day….

Finally… spoke to God… a little prayer of thanks…
For his unfailing love… and for the coffee I drank….
Because he made it.
And… he helped me get up….
He equipped me… to face the new day….

Leave a Reply

