Piano Practice

Decided a while ago to just go back and start from the beginning….

Worked on the Blues Scale and understanding the fretboard better… and chord changes and melodies… and understanding the MUSIC of one of the songs I’m working on… but wasn’t really satisfied….

Haven’t really been dedicated to piano….
Like I should be….

And… piano… gives me a different perspective….

Guitar is more… longitudinal… and rhythmical….
I don’t play or compose like Tony Iommi of Black Sabbath for the most part; I don’t tend to think in straight 4/4 time: I tend to syncopate… or shuffle…. At least… most of the time….

Piano gives me a more vertical appreciation of the piece. The structure of the notes forming the chords are easier to see… and the changes in tone are easier to see….
Piano is a percussion instrument… so the nuances of that aspect are also more apparent… when I bother to look….

I haven’t spent much time studying bass lately. In fact… none at all….
Been doing some other things….

Anyway… I pulled out Bela Bartok’s Mikrokosmos… and hurriedly played through a few pieces….
Went much better than I anticipated. Sight-reading was never my forte….
Then I worked on Tchaikovsky’s Old French Song…. Noticed a few things I had never really seen… or heard before…. The chord structure….
After I warmed up with Free Bird, of course…. Made some changes to how I usually play that piece as well…. More… bluesy…. Honkey-Tonk-ey….

Having a plan… or a purpose… in what I am about to attempt to do… generally helps….
Even if I deviate… and get off course… immediately….
At least I have a bit of a road map of how to maybe get back on track….
If I get bored with what distracted me to begin with….

Leave a Reply

