Last Night… I Dreamed…. (aubade for a ghost)

Last night… I dreamed that I was a song.
Last night… I dreamed you were one, too.
Last might… we floated suspended in sweet harmony.
Intertwined in a symphony. Completely in tune.

I woke up this morning, and you were not there.
I woke up and I was alone.
I woke up this morning, alone in our bed.
I woke up and I wrote this song….

Oh-oh why…? Why am I here?
Oh-oh why…? Why have you gone?
Oh-oh why…? Why am I here?
Oh, why am I here (was I left) all alone…?

Last night… I dreamed I lay in your arms.
Last night… I slept blissfully.
Last night… those dreams… seem… so long ago….
Today seems like eternity….

Touch me softly. Tussle my hair. Enfold me in your loving (scented) arms.
Kiss me gently. Kiss me deeply. Love me ‘til morning’s light dawns.

I hear you breathing. I hear you sigh. I hear your sleepy moans.
I watch the evening stars in the sky. In the morning… I know you’ll be gone.
When the sun comes… you will be gone….

The moon was shining
The stars were, too
And we were alone and in tune.
Like lightning striking
An unexpected swoon
Our night ended all too soon.

by BaHR
30 January 2015 0957
05 February 2015 1158

One thought on “Last Night… I Dreamed…. (aubade for a ghost)

  1. Pingback: Last Night… I Dreamed…. (aubade for a ghost) | Wright-Wang Extreme Mystery, Inc.

Leave a Reply

