Dead Flowers (on a Dead Man’s Grave)

Dead flowers… on a dead man’s grave….
These plastic people…
Lord… they’re tryin’ to save me
From myself.
Save me from some life that they see as damned….
But they can’t save me from who I am!

Dead flowers… on a cold, dead fire….
Guess I’ve been burned by my burnin’ desire!
Cupids arrow struck me straight in my heart…
Now I’m torn down… and my life’s torn apart….

Dead flowers… in a broken vase….
I hate my life… and I hate this place!
Despise the lies, but I can’t stand the truth….
And… I hate talkin’ cuz the point is moot!

Everyone’s talk…
Talk… talk… talk…
Talkin’ at me….
But all your talk is cheap as bird chirp, you see…?
Cuz the walk your walkin’ can’t carry it’s own weight with me….
You may think your money somehow bought and sold me,
But… I’m here to tell you… you can’t control me….
I’m a dead man walkin’ in a purple haze….
Just another dead flower on a dead man’s grave….

Dead flowers… on a dead man’s grave….
Sometimes some things in life…
Lord… just ain’t worth savin’….
And this life of mine…
May be one of those times…
But I ain’t complainin’…
And I sure as Hell ain’t changin’….

Dead flowers… on a dead man’s grave….
And just who is it they’re all tryin’ to save…?
Me from Hell? Or themselves from change…?
Seems plastic people ain’t got no sense… or no shame….

Everyone’s talk…
Talk… talk… talk…
Talkin’ at me….
If I’ve hurt your feelin’s… I guess that one’s on me….
I don’t want to hurt you… but I need to feel free….
Feel free to live YOUR life however you please….
Control yourself. Just don’t try to control me….
I don’t mean to throw anyone into a tiz….
I’m just statin’ it the way it is….

Dead flowers… on the killin’ ground….
Feel free to kiss me when I turn around….
Feel free to miss me when I’m dead and gone….
Feel free to love me… or leave me alone….

So… you can stop talk…
Talk… talk… talk…
Talkin’ at me….
Your talk is cheaper than chicken chirp to me!
Cuz the walk your walkin’ can’t carry it’s own weight with me….
You may think your money somehow bought and sold me,
But… I’m here to tell you… you can’t control me….
I’m a dead man walkin’ in a purple haze….
And you’re just another dead flower on a dead man’s grave….

Just another dead flower on a dead man’s grave….
Just another dead flower… on a dead man’s grave….

by BaHR
26 May 2014 1232
24 June 2014 0901
05 February 2015 1207
18 February 2015 1316
23 February 2015 0929
03 March 2015 1200

One thought on “Dead Flowers (on a Dead Man’s Grave)

  1. Pingback: Dead Flowers (on a Dead Man’s Grave) | Wright-Wang Extreme Mystery, Inc.

Leave a Reply

