I don’t speak Japanese, but….

Akiyama no
Momiji wo shigemi
Madoinuru
Imo wo motomemu
Yamamichi shirazu mo

Autumn mountain
Excessive leaves falling
Confounded me
I vainly seek lost love
Mountain pathway remains obscured

Anonymous poem from Manyoushuu… “A Thousand Leaves”

I don’t speak Japanese. I know a few words. And I can read a few characters. And… I can’t seem to leave well enough alone….

But… just seems to me a story may be hiding somewhere along this desolate mountain path….

One thought on “I don’t speak Japanese, but….

  1. Pingback: I don’t speak Japanese, but…. | Wright-Wang Extreme Mystery, Inc.

Leave a Reply

