An Unfinished Poem About Sublimating Snow… and Fog….

https://scontent-b-lga.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/1016286_10202773425038999_1318233234_n.jpg

 

Dense Fog… Subliming Snow….

by 1.

0752.06.01.2014-1112.06.01.2014

the Borderlands, Lexington, Massachusetts… Truth revealed in the headlights of a passing car on the Road of Life….

#

#

Pure….

White….

Snow….

Each six-pronged star…

Like each human being…

unique…

valued…

loved….

God’s great gift came silently in the night…

and overstayed his welcome….

#

#

Soon stained. Besmudged. Dirtied. Defiled.

By the detritus of onrushing lives…

headlong drives…

headstrong lies….

No longer pleasing in any aesthetic sense…

ascetic practice long out of fashion…

replaced by passion… cheap grace…

begged indulgence… works…

Prosperity Gospel….

A serene smile… on a beatific face… on TV….

Send money, check or money order….

Credit cards encouraged….

Good news for man was proclaimed….

Sunny weather and a day at the beach for one and all!

But as night fell…

pure HELL descended….

Or… rather…

Pure….

White….

Snow….

#

#

The white fluffy stuff was deep enough

to cover over the ugliness of all men’s sins….

The could-as….

The would-as….

The should-as….

Everything everyone wanted to hide….

But then…

It became too much….

TOO beautiful….

TOO distracting….

TOO easy…

to slide…

to lose control…

of man’s direction….

Too demanding….

Too confining….

Too much….

He was seen obstructing…

human progress…

along the highways and byways of life….

So… unceremoniously… he was “let go”….

Replaced….

Or… rather… displaced….

Thrust aside by armies of men and machines

Bulldozed out of road and out to the sidelines

And out of their lives by men rushing heedlessly

Forward… ever forward… for profit…

For snow had slowed the fast-tract…

a contemptible act…

requiring a Wall Street correction…

to release the Holy Cow… CASH!!!

The Gospel was defamed

and the Good News to man was proclaimed….

Each man is his own god and highest authority….

#

#

My mind’s flawed attempt to interpret God’s Gift…

to spin that sacred crimson thread into something

I could claim I made… mentally constructed…

to warm my heart in the winter of my soul…

like hot chocolate… with peppermint schnapps…

to bring me joy…

self-satisfaction…

acclaim…

I suddenly realized…

defames…

steals Glory from God….

And should enrage…

inflame…

ignite his wrath…

bring vengeance…

DEATH

but doesn’t….

I pondered as I drove through the obscuring haze…

traversed the vapor in my mind…

seeking some substantial sooth….

My amazingly awesome intellect…

is capable…

of creating…

NOTHING

more than a mental fog…

a stinging rebuke…

obfuscating…

TRUTH!!!

#

#

As I thunder down my chosen path…

I imagine my immediate future revealed

stretched out before me like some open road…

illuminated by the bright halogen beams

of my much loved technological dream….

My Creed revealed by the glass and steel

surrounding my ego… an expensive…

apprehensive… medieval fortress…

only…

more modern…

more marvelous…

more panache…

more cash….

The metallic… lustrous… color….

The warm fuzzy smell of new glove leather….

The sensuous… boom… boom… BOOMing…

bass sounds… that precede me into town…

announce my coming… like a herald….

The soft… almost imperceptible click!

of the finely crafted German engineered door

that seals out the concern of the world….

Represents…. Isolates…. Protects me from churls….

I’m in the zone…. And my car…

hugs the road I’m traveling on….

I stay on my toes…. Avoid the woes….

Impressive style…. Impassive squeal…

of my tires bypassing all that real

life out there… beyond my mind’s windows….

The heroes…. The zeroes…. The weirdo….

The orphans…. The widows…. The wannabes….

The unblemished….

Pure….

White….

Snow….

#

Appreciating the exalted beauty…

I spin the wheels of my fortune…

floor my jet…

and… move on quickly…

before the magnificence…

the majesty…

have any chance to take hold….

#

#

I awoke this morning to a dense fog of unknowing….

clouding my mind’s eye…

obscuring my vision…

my path…

my future…

significantly slowed my drive towards success….

Obscuring vapor would not relent.

Amber-lensed fog lights…

grey polarized shields…

the best technology man could conceive…

could not correct my blindness….

I found at best such things had blocked the glaring light…

the soul-shattering insight…

reflected in the pure crystalline form….

This morning…

the fog…

rising from its tomb…

outside the fast lane…

was thicker than my own weak mind…

This morning…

the fog…

forced me to seek an alternate route….

Forced me to a road less traveled….

Forced me to focus on the

Pure….

White….

Snow….

Subliming….

Transcending….

Shrouded in mystery…

mystic…

mythic…

mysterious…

Pure….

White….

Snow….

Water molecules…

escaping their constraints…

fleeing Earth’s surface…

fleeing man’s taint…

man’s stain…

man’s sin….

Billowing…

undulating…

breathing…

masses…

of living vapor….

Living spirits….

Living souls….

Angels…

gossamer…

ghostly…

ephemeral forms…

who swap their shimmering pure white robes…

for tattered grey rags…

as they ascend to heaven….

But those tattered grey clothes are burned to nothingness…

as man’s mind is set free…

as man’s stain is cleansed…

as man’s sin is consumed…

by the purifying fire of the Sun….

Sublimation….

Purification….

Molecules…

seeking purity…

seeking unity…

seeking God….

Returning home….

Pure….

White….

Snow….

This poem is not finished. Not buffed or polished. Written first pass. The formatting is off. However… all rights are reserved….

One thought on “An Unfinished Poem About Sublimating Snow… and Fog….

  1. Pingback: An Unfinished Poem About Sublimating Snow… and Fog…. | Wright-Wang Extreme Mystery, Inc.

Leave a Reply

