Judging Others…. And the Profound Ignorance of Bigotry….

Yep. I do it. I judge others….

But… that’s not what this post is about….

This post is about bigotry. And the lack of insight thereof….

What is bigotry?

Well… this is the definition from a Left Wing Source… who already injects its own brand of Liberal Bigotry into the definition….

big·ot·ry ˈbigətrē noun
noun: bigotry; plural noun: bigotries
bigoted attitudes; intolerance toward those who hold different opinions from oneself.
“the report reveals racism and right-wing bigotry”

Now… I am going to admit my bias right up front…. I am Conservative and I am Christian and those two factors in my belief system are separate. However, I am a Conservative Christian as well as a Christian Conservative. I am a Right Wing White Guy, but I am also an enigma apparently… because I am highly intelligent and highly educated… so I don’t fit the stereotype that Liberals same to have about Right Wing White Guys…. They don’t need to listen to us… or talk to us… because they believe we are all ignorant idiots….

Well… I’m not…. Neither….

But… I’m constantly treated as though I were… whenever I reply with a dissenting opinion to any Liberal Progressive or Secular Humanist post…. Whenever I go against the meme….

Is believing differently or presenting a differing point of view bigotry? No. Is pointing out that someone is presenting biased or stereotypical opinion bigotry? No. Is suggesting someone else is a hypocrite or bigot bigotry? No. Not if you justify your comments objectively. But… who is willing to see themselves… their opinions… their group… as bigoted…? Not many…. Why not…? Inherent bias… or bigotry…. A sincere belief in the moral superiority of one’s position… to the extent that one refuses to see a differing opinion as even potentially valid… then seeking to IMPOSE one’s belief system on others without recourse…. THAT’S bigotry….

When someone disagrees and presents substantiation for their beliefs… no matter what the reasoning might be… that’s not bigotry… unless they show an inherent negative bias towards the differences of others….

So… what have I witnessed…?

I am often told that they cannot follow the line of reasoning in my post. And that I’m misinformed. And that I apparently read the wrong things. Sometimes… I am told that I am a bigot… and that whomever I have called a bigot is in fact tolerant… of the opinion of the person leaping to defend them…. That Conservative Christians are intolerant… and ignorant… of what the Bible REALLY says… REALLY means…. Like today… when someone condescended to reply to my comment… stating he was a Christian… and that the Bible was wrong… and Scientists had proved that Bible stole ideas from previous religions….

Everybody seems to get hung up on Creation. As if that were the most important aspect of Christianity. I humbly disagree. And I base my belief on Scripture. Genesis states categorically that Universe did not exist before God spoke it into Creation. There is no quibbling. That’s what Tohu Wa-bohu means. Absolute nothingness. No Space-Time to curve. No matter. No energy. No gravity…. Not even Chaos…. Nothing but God… in the form of the Trinity…. Genesis does not explain how long that State existed. Doesn’t matter. Because Time did not exist… at least not as we know it…. Nothing existed as we know it…. Not the Laws of Physics…. Nothing…. How do I know that the Trinity was there? Because Scripture says so. Genesis 1 describes the Spirit hovering over the water and John 1 describes Jesus’ presence and action at Creation.

Perhaps I should get to my point. Christianity is defined by Scripture. I cannot comprehend how ANYONE who does not believe ALL of Scripture would choose to believe any of it…. Christianity is like Science: what does not hold up and cannot be accepted as Truth by the individual… should be thrown out completely…. Or at least treated as suspect….

So… either Einstein’s Theories of Special and General Relativity… or Quantum Mechanics… or both… should be cast aside… because they cannot be reconciled without resorting to extreme and questionable mathematics and hypotheses that cannot be tested for about a Millennium. Similarly… Scripture that is cannot be embraced… should be cast out… and if one tiny bit cannot be accepted… ALL should be replaced by some other belief system by that individual… because they are NOT Christian…. Not by the definition stated in Scripture…. So… why go through the pain…. Move over to the Pleasure Principle and at least enjoy your life… rather than trying to water down Scripture to make Christianity palatable to you….

Believing “Scientists”… which are in reality not Scientists at all… but rather practitioners of other arts… more Liberal… defies logic to me…. Carbon and Uranium dating are useful… to a degree… within certain time constraints… if one has sufficient and appropriate controls…. But the margin of error means that much of the data is just a guess. Particularly in the study of Creation. Too many variables. Too much error. Same with Textural Criticism. Too few surviving texts. Too few full texts. Too much speculation. Too few facts.

But… how can a Christian really choose to put such specious speculation above Scripture…? Even the most highly evolved man has repeatedly been wrong about so many things…. The inability to resolve the two greatest “Theories” of the XXth Century…. The Standard Model… that is based on the unification of those unresolved… and unresolvable hypotheses…. Belief that man’s destiny is inevitably to evolve into gods… and that there is no other possible explanation…. Anthropogenic Global Warming/Climate Change model….

Occam’s Razor, or Lex Parsimoniae argues that the simplest solution between two choices is the most likely answer…. And Occam’s Razor doesn’t care if you don’t agree that one of those choices is beyond human comprehension…. So… The Great Spaghetti Monster actually IS a better explanation of Creation than the Standard Model, Super-strings or M-theory…. And that’s sad….

I don’t know who came up with The Great Spaghetti Monster, but I know that whoever did so, did so in order to denigrate and ridicule the beliefs of Christians… and particularly Conservative Christians…. And that’s bigotry….

I am not arguing that Christians and Conservative Christians are perfect… or even that we never ridicule or denigrate others… or attempt to impose our beliefs on others…. And THAT is bigotry, too….

But not ALWAYS point out the bigotry of my own side when I am presenting the hypocrisy of Liberal Bigots doesn’t mean what I write is bigotry. Not when I go to the trouble of presenting specific cases. But… I’m surely willing to discuss that….

Bigotry is Profound Ignorance… and spiritual blindness…. Bigotry is refusal to look at myself as God sees me….

Anyway… I’m a sinner…. I’m certainly no better than anyone else…. That means that I certainly must be a bigot….

But… Grace happened…. And STILL happens….

One thought on “Judging Others…. And the Profound Ignorance of Bigotry….

  1. Pingback: Judging Others…. And the Profound Ignorance of Bigotry…. | Wright-Wang Extreme Mystery, Inc.

Leave a Reply

